Why Was Dragon Tech Writing Created?

There are several various different stories that led to the creation of Dragon Tech Writing but I will stick with the most recent. After I graduated in 2009, I could not find a job in my field locally. I had no desire to uproot my family and start over in another bigger city where I could have had a job. Talk about claustrophobia. After two years, I was finally able to get a job at YESCO Electronics that I loved.

It was a great position with people that I enjoyed working with, even with all the ups and downs. Unfortunately, they were having some growing pains. I made it past the first cut but not the second cut. After 2 years, I was back in the job market with a little experience and realized that the technical communication field, unless you were in a major city, was dying.

Business were focused on surviving the new economic down slide and not on growth or improvement. If they were hiring technical writers or communicators, it was part time, temporary, or contract based. While talking with my husband, I burst out and said, “Maybe, I should just start a technical writing business.”  He said, “Maybe you should.” I realized that I would not be able to create this company on my own.

I am in a stitching group that meets once a week at Embroidery Central. Carrie also attends and her husband is also a technical writer so I approached her with the idea. She talked to her husband and she arranged for us to met. We both liked each other immediately and we decided to start this business.

A year has passed and we have had one client, thank you Cirra Systems. Whenever we introduce ourselves we are constantly asked, “What is technical writing?” We are the faces of our business but it also seems we are the faces of our chosen field. We are still defining our business and its role in our community but I guarantee you, we are having a lot of fun.

by Melinda Anderson

Leave a Reply

